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Insurance
Determine whether the contractor has
proper insurance, including workers’
compensation and liability. Also, check
with your own homeowner’s insurance
company to be sure that you have
adequate coverage should someone be
injured on the job.

Certificate of Completion
Do not sign a certificate of completion or
make your final payment until you are sure
that everything in the contract is done. Be
sure all suppliers and subcontractors have
been paid; the work has been finished to
your satisfaction, and is approved by your
local building official, if applicable.
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Guarantees and Warranties
Workmanship warranties are usually good
only if in writing, and the writing is only as
good as the contractor behind it. Be sure to
check for written warranties on materials
(e.g., new windows), and be sure you keep
them in a safe place.

What to Do if You Have a
Complaint
Write to the Department of Consumer
Protection Complaint Center, 165 Capitol
Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106. Your complaint
will be reviewed to determine whether the
agency can help. You may also wish to
consult with your attorney. Small Claims
Court is another option for claims under
$5,000.

Guaranty Fund
State law requires all home improvement
contractors and sales people to contribute
annually to a Home Improvement Guaranty
Fund, maintained by the Department of
Consumer Protection to reimburse
homeowners meeting certain conditions.
Please see our Fact Sheet, Home
Improvement, The Guaranty Fund for more
information. You may view it or download it
from our website at www.ct.gov/dcp.

Waiver of Lien Rights
Any subcontractor or supplier hired by
your contractor may file a lien in court
against your property if the contractor
fails to pay him or her. So if you have a
$10,000 job and have paid the contractor
the full amount but he fails to pay the
individual suppliers or subcontractors
who worked on your home, the
subcontractors or suppliers may file a
lien against your property. You, the
homeowner, must then appear and
defend yourself against the claim! To
avoid such situations, you may want to
have each and every supplier and
subcontractor sign a waiver of lien rights
against your property. You may want to
discuss this with your attorney.

Building Permits
Either the homeowner or the contractor
may take out whatever building permits
are necessary in your town. However,
building permits are ultimately the
homeowner’s responsibility. Thus, if
your contractor tells you that he or she
has taken care of the permits but has
failed to do this, you are still
responsible. Verify with your local
building official that all permits are in
place.



Who is a Home Improvement
Contractor?
Anyone who performs improvements on
residential property (single- or multiple-
family dwellings of six units or less, condos
or co-ops), when the individual job exceeds
$200 and when the cash price of all work
performed in one year exceeds $1,000.

The Home Improvement
Contract Must:
• Be in writing, as must all contract

modifications
• Include the contractor’s Connecticut

Home Improvement (HIC) registration
number

• Be signed by both the homeowner and
the contractor / salesperson

• Include both a start and completion date
• Include notice of the homeowner’s right

to cancel within 3 business days ( In
Connecticut, Saturday is a legal business
day).

The contract is not valid or enforceable
against the homeowner unless it contains all
the above information and is entered into by
a registered contractor and/or a registered
salesperson.

listed), you may request a refund of your
money. If the contractor fails to refund your
money within 10 days of your request, he/
she is subject to criminal action and other
administrative action.

How to Avoid Home

What is Not Included in the
Home Improvement Law?

• Construction of a new home
(covered by different laws; see our
fact sheet, What You Need to Know
About New Home Construction)

• Sale of materials with no arrange-
ments to perform any work or labor

• Sale of goods or services for
commercial use or resale

• Sale of appliances (stoves, washers,
 etc.) which can be easily removed
from the home without material
alteration

• Work performed by the homeowner
on his/her own premises, without pay

• Any work that requires a separate
license, such as plumbing, heating
and cooling, and electrical

Registration is Required!
All home improvement contractors working
in Connecticut must be registered with the
Department of Consumer Protection, and
must display their registration number on
their contracts and in all advertising. All
home improvement salespeople must also be
registered. No individual may act as a home
improvement salesperson for an unregistered
contractor and no contractor can employ an
unregistered salesperson.

Financing
If the contractor offers to finance your home
improvement project or put you in touch
with a finance company, have your attorney
or some other knowledgeable person review
the finance agreement before you sign, and
verify that the agreement complies with the
State and Federal Truth-in-Lending Act.
There have been cases where consumers
thought they were entering into a retail
installment agreement, only to discover they
had placed a second mortgage on their
homes!

What if the Work isn’t Done?
If more than 30 days have gone by from the
start date in your contract and the con-tractor
has not performed a substantial amount of
the work specified (or within 30 days after
the date of the contract if no start date is

Improvement Headaches
• Get to know the contractor as much as

possible. Ask for references from former
customers and contact them. Visit the job
sites, if possible.

• Call or write the Department of Consumer
Protection to determine whether the
prospective contractor is indeed registered.
You may reach us at (860) 713-6110 or
1-800-842-2649. You may also wish to
check with the Better Business Bureau.

• Get more than one estimate, especially on
big jobs. If the bids differ by a wide
margin, be skeptical; get more bids. Don’t
assume that an extremely low bid is a
bargain.

• Take the time to learn what’s involved in
the in the project, including the kinds of
materials to be used.

• Make sure you understand your contract.
If anything bothers you, check with your
attorney.

• Don’t approve any plans or blueprints
unless you understand them.

• Plan your payment schedule to correspond
to the progress of the work and include
this in the contract. If the contractor asks
for all the money up front, or even a very
large down payment, this may signal he’s
in financial trouble. You’ll also have more
to lose should he fail to complete the job.

• Keep a daily journal of all work done,
materials delivered, changes or additions
and problems.


